External Advisory Board

The External Scientific Advisory Board, which consists of national experts in basic, clinical and population-based research, participates in an annual external scientific review of the Masonic Cancer Center's activities.

Kevin Cullen, MD - Chairperson

Director, University of Maryland Greenebaum Cancer Center, Baltimore, MD.

Alan Ashworth, PhD, FRS

Director, University of California San Francisco (UCSF) Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center.

David Beer, PhD

Co-Director, Cancer Genetics Program, University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Ann Arbor, MI.

Smita Bhatia, MD, MPH

Associate Director for Outcomes Research, UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center, Birmingham, AL

MaryAnn Bjornsti, PhD

Associate Director for Translational Research, University of Alabama Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Melissa Bondy, PhD

Associate Director of Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences, Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston TX

Michael Darling, MHA

Associate Director for Administration, Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, Indiana University, Indianapolis, IN.

Stan Gerson, MD

Director, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, Cleveland, OH.

Thomas Kensler, PhD

Co-leader for the Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention Program at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, Pittsburgh, PA.

James Mulé, PhD

Associate Center Director, Translational Science & Technology Development, Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL.

Vito Quaranta, MD

Professor of Cancer Biology, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville, TN.

Scott Ramsey, MD, PhD

Director, Cancer Outcomes Research, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA.

Thomas Sellers, PhD, MPH

Center Director and Executive Vice President, Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL.

Louis Weiner, MD

Director, Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center, Washington, DC. 

Community Advisory Board

The Community Advisory Board advises and supports the leadership in mission, programmatic direction, community interactions, outreach, public relations, and advocacy.

*ex officio
** staff

Ruth Bachman (Chair)

Carla Bender

Marva Bohen

Jo DeBruycker

Charlton Dietz

Kathleen Gavin

Bob Griffin

Phyllis Kahn, Ph.D.

Roger Ledding

Irving Lerner, M.D.

Art Lingo

Roger McNear

Don Mertz

Kris Rhodes

Burton Schwartz, M.D.

George "Skip" Thaler

Joel Theisen

Douglas Yee, M.D.*

Seanne Falconer, M.B.A.*

Christopher Pennell, Ph.D.*

Kiara Ellis, M.S.W.**